A Home Not Defined By Four Walls

A week ago, I stood on a mound of dirt. I looked at the trees, the grass, and a couple of cows grazing and I left this sense of belonging. I felt like I was exactly where I needed to be in life. A few days after that I was carrying a basket on my hip walking toward the laundry machine. There were kids playing and people talking on their phones outside and I felt like I was apart of this community of people. We had all found ourselves here, to this moment, and I felt connected.

20150528_155458[1]

Home is where you are in the very second that you are there. Home does not need to be four walls, a nice lawn, and a comfy couch. It doesn’t need little pictures of your family or a wall sign either. Some people rarely venture outside of the town they were born in. The limits of their home are secluded to the state, city, or suburb that they always knew growing up.

But what I would like to tell you is that home doesn’t have to be a physical place. Your feeling of happiness and comfort don’t have to be confided to a specific space. Home can be you and you alone.

The advantages of this are that no matter where you go in the world you’ll always feel at home.

When you make home not a tangible thing but a feeling of comfort inside yourself then the world opens up with possibilities.

I’ve always considered where I am to be home. The dorm room in college was my home just as much as my mother’s house. When I’ve been on vacation, I call my hotel room home because for however brief the visit is it is home to me.

Don’t be afraid to move away from “home”. Many of my friends are at the age where they could live anywhere in the world. They have endless supplies of opportunities to go for. So what I’m saying is don’t be afraid to leave what you know as home to go for your dreams.

Home will always be the security of yourself, body and soul.

Here are some tips on how to make anywhere you are home.

1. Comfort. Find what will make you comfortable and happy. Surround yourself with these things. I like to have a book or two, a journal, and a really good traveling companion.

20150528_155213[1]

2. Explore. Every city has a website that lists attractions, parks, and festivals. I like to find free attractions like parks and museums. This week I found over 10 free museums in my town. I got to walk the city and see some cool art in the process.

The Gust of Wind by Gustave Courbet

The Gust of Wind by Gustave Courbet

3. Attitude. One on the most important things in life is how you view your personal situation. Many people blame their school or city for their unhappiness. They say things like if I had more money, or if the people here weren’t stupid… They find excuses to be miserable. Find what makes you happy and go for it.

Make yourself home. Make long drives, unfamiliar streets, and open fields be filled with a sense of belonging. No matter where you find yourself be happy. A zip code doesn’t define your comfort.

The Saint-Martin Canal by Georges Braque

The Saint-Martin Canal by Georges Braque

Every moment can feel like home if you embrace the mindset.

This entry was posted in home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Home Not Defined By Four Walls

  1. Gerald Scanlan says:

    Home is where the heart is

    Like

Leave a Reply

