What The Eiffel Tower Is Really Like

The image of the Eiffel Tower is one of the most recognized images in the world. An estimated 6.9 million people visit the tower each year with 19,000 estimated for every day. That’s a lot of people.

Paris is seem as the city of romance and the Eiffel Tower is certainly romanticized with it.

20150803_214656

The tower is beautiful, stunning even, at night. It becomes all lit up and on the hour it sparkles. I could see this every night from the dorm room window if I craned my neck to the right.

The view from my room if you stick your head out and look right.

The view from my room if you stick your head out and look right.

I stood below it when the light show of sparkles started and I stood at the top of too during this event.

But what about the unpretty, undazzling part of the Eiffel Tower? What is it really like to be at the Eiffel Tower?

IMG_0130

Crowded. Lots of tourists with their crazy selfie poses.

Can you get me looking like I don’t care as I stand in front of the Eiffel Tower and cock my hat back just a bit?

How about me jumping midair?

And then you have those guys that are at everything famous. They stand outside the Louvre and the Sacre Coeur and they are there under the Eiffel selling little mini Eiffels and selfie sticks. Always, always selfie sticks.

Then there’s the weddings or is it just a photo shoot wedding for a magazine? I’m not sure. But they are there too with their big cameras trying to create their perfect picture in the chaos.

IMG_0190

And when you go there, at least for me, it won’t be how you pictured it. In someways it was better. I didn’t know it sparkled like that. It was so beautiful. From the top you can see everything too. It’s a view for days.

IMG_0205

But in other ways it sucked and in my imagination going to the Eiffel Tower definitely wasn’t supposed to suck. When I went to the top my feet were dying because we’d been walking all day and in the Eiffel you can barely move. People are jammed against people as you try to get to the rail for the perfect pic.

The second time we went at night it was down pouring. As we waited for it to strike the hour us and a hundred other people got soaked. My shoes were wet for two days after. I was cold and it sucked because things are never the way you picture them.

You don’t always get your picture perfect memory.

The Eiffel Tower is beautiful. See it at night and it’s even more so. But it’s not perfect. It’s not as romantic as they make it out to be. It’s not the best thing that Paris has to offer. There’s so much more.

But that’s just my opinion.

Judge for yourself.

20150813_220409_LLS

 

This entry was posted in travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What The Eiffel Tower Is Really Like

  1. elaria6 says:

    That’s how I felt in the middle of Times Square in NYC. Too crowded and there’s no way you’re going to get a picture without other people in it. I’d love to see the Eiffel Tower though…but something tells me I better keep an open mind beforehand. lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

