Twas the Night Before NaNoWriMo

HalloweenIt’s the day of Halloween or what others around the world like to call the night before NaNoWriMo. While most are dressing up to celebrate the holiday some are sharpening their pencils and lining their character note cards across their desk like stockings stuffed over the fire place.

There’s a lot of excitement going on today.

Some might find today a great day to watch movie marathons, go to a party or take their kids out trick or treating but while all that is happening there’s a subculture where people of all ages are gathering at coffee shops, waiting out midnight. There’s a mother and a daughter having a tea party at midnight with their pencils ready and individual writers around the world waiting the time.

For all the NaNoWriMo’s today is the night before the frenzy.

I once heard someone describe NaNoWriMo as like a tough mudder race. It’s something to push you. It’s something that is fun and a challenge all at once. Many people participate while juggling jobs, spouses, moving, Thanksgiving… but they all share a need to have something of their own that can inspire them.

And there are rebels out there too.

Short stories, poems, fan fiction and even 30 days/ 30 covers of novel art

NaNoWriMo’s dedicate a month out of the year to following their dream, trying to write a novel, trying to write anything. It’s what it’s all about.

As far as my NaNo goes, I’m not sure what’s going to happen. I’ve outlined a story, picked some characters, tried to get to know said characters, and I don’t know if that’s going to work out. My winging it attitude might be coming up. Maybe I’ll start writing that story and hit a roll. Or not. Maybe I’ll stop and start writing something else. I might become a rebel and write shorts along with novels.

Who knows what November holds. I think the important part is just to try.

For my last post on NaNoWriMo, click here.

Happy Writing!

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Twas the Night Before NaNoWriMo

  1. Lidy says:

    Like you spent most of October prepping for NaNoWriMo, by getting to know my characters, outlining, structuring my novel, etc. I don’t know if I’ll reach 50k, not like I’m trying to anyway. I just want to reach November 30th with a complete rough draft. Happy Writing, Happy Halloween and Good Luck to us both!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

