Week One of NaNoWriMo

Word Count: 5,636

Where It’s Supposed To Be: 11,667

Words Per Day to Finish On Time: 1,849

I took the weekend off and I’m still writing/ editing today.

Thoughts

So this week I’ve really been trying to reread and rewrite. I find myself rewriting most of the scenes completely. It’s also been a long time since I’ve actually tried to write almost everyday so I find that I’m a bit dusty.

When I started on Day 1 I knew that I wasn’t writing the right tenses and that  I was making mistakes but it was hard for my brain to correct these things. So on Day 2 I had to go through everything that I had written and fix it all.

I’m fixing a lot of things like tense changes. I’m also fixing the fact that the first draft switches between 1st person and 3rd person and I’m changing the name of my main character.

Then I’ve been working on changing scenes so they make more sense and make the wording better.

I think this first week has really just been getting back to writing and getting back into this story.

I’m also trying to find the balance between getting word count for NaNoWriMo and trying to write the best draft that I can. It’s hard to balance quality and quantity. The benefit of writing this month is that NaNoWriMo is a great motivator. It really builds and harnesses my excitement for writing. But it’s downside is that it’s a fast paced process.

Goals For Next Week

-Get caught up on writing count or pretty close

-Try to build the characters more and the story more

-Keep going over and editing second draft in progress

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

