Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

DSC_0201[1]

Crown of Midnight is #2 in the Throne of Glass series. While Thrown of Glass was about Celaena winning the title of Champion of the King, Crown of Midnight follows what happens when she has to start doing the king’s dirty work for him. Dispatching the Kings enemy’s is just a small portion of what’s going on in this book.

To read my review of Throne of Glass, click here.

Plot

Evil is lurking in the castle again and Celaena begins to receive more pressure to get involved in the resistance and to solve the mystery of the cloaked figure in the hallway.

What is the King hiding? How is he so powerful?

Celaena just wants to get through these years of service and finally have a nice, simple life, far, far, away from the castle but it doesn’t seem that it’s her destiny. Unfortunately, the harder she fights to stay out of the fray, the more the people around her get hurt.

Thoughts

In Throne of Glass it’s pretty easy to predict what the course of the book is going to look like. No one is really surprised that Celaena wins Champion of the King or that she starts to have feelings for both Dorian and Chaol.

In Crown of Midnight I feel like the series takes the reader on a lot more twists and turns. There’s still the things you would expect to see from the series but there’s a long journey taken from the beginning of the book to the end.

What I really like about this series is that the author has a great sense of pacing. I like that I learn enough about Celaena to be interested in her background but there’s still so much, as a reader, that I don’t know yet. I can tell by reading the series that she’s planned out the series and things in the first book are directly linked to this book. It all flows smoothly, which is really great to read.

I love that I have a good grasp of the world but there’s still so much left to learn.

Roland gave her a courtier’s smile. “And what sort of work do you do for my uncle?”
Dorian shifted on his feet and Chaol went very still, but Celaena returned Roland’s smile and said, “I bury the king’s opponents where nobody will ever find them.”
Sarah J. Maas, Crown of Midnight

I also discovered that there’s several prequel novellas to this series. Again, I love this series because I can tell the author has really done a lot of planning, world building, and back story.

Evenually I hope to read all the prequel’s and finish up this series.

Until then, check out more of my reviews!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑